That place called Kokomo

The song “Kokomo” by the Beach Boys takes me back to about 4th grade possibly 5th grade.  It was during this time that the song was really popular.  I was living in Florida at that time to.  So it felt kind of cool to have a song about a place that was so close to where I lived.  Until I found out that no such place existed.

Aside from the line of the song that listed all the different island, I had no idea what this song was about.  All I know is that because I hung out with a bunch of girls that loved the song, I was forced by association to learn the words.  I don’t even think back then we comprehended who the Beach Boys were no that I think on it.  But listening to it now and actually understand what’s going on in the song, gives me a new appreciation for it.

I don’t know if this makes any sense, but the song is so tropical feeling.  It’s just so relaxing.  You can see yourself on a beach somewhere, possibly in a hammock, drinking some fruit cocktail with an umbrella in it and taking in the ocean view.  That’s what this song does for me anyway.  If every state in the union had a theme song, this should be for Florida.  So what it’s fictional.  Mickey Mouse is fictional and he has an entire estate here.

Also gave me a new appreciation for the Beach Boys.  I think by the 80s they’d been around for like 20 years.  And from what I understand they are still kicking and recording.  I may write about them at some point.  Today, that little place called Kokomo is where I wanna go to get away from it all.

Leave a Reply

