Songs for mama

Today is a very special day for me.  Today is my mothers birthday.  My mom is an amazing woman.  Sad it took me almost 30 years to appreciate her awesomeness.  I think that’s the normal time frame for most people.  Those who discover it earlier have my envy.

Got me thinking about songs that are dedicated to moms.  I really had to think long and hard.  As well as search my ipod and I must say that I don’t have many.  Which is kind of depressing.  Moms should have an entire category of songs dedicated to them and their fantastic impact on our lives.

I came across two on the pod.  One being Boys II Men’s beautiful “Song For Mama”.  Which I believe came off of the movie soundtrack of “Soul Food”.  Regardless of where it came from, it is such a heartfelt and beautiful song.  It’s Anoalso a very accurate musical representation on how I feel for my mom.  I love the line ‘mama, you’re the queen of my heart’.  That is so perfect.  She is definitely that.  She will always be the number one woman in my life.

Another song that is a good one is “Sadie” by The Spinners.  This one is classic.  I believe this is my fathers favorite song.  It reminds him of grandma who has been beyond us for quite a long time.  I couldn’t imagine what it would be like to live without my mom.  I don’t want to imagine it.  Makes me glad that I smartened up finally and stop taking my mother for granted.  So this song makes me think of two great women as well as my dad.  Triple awesome.

Here next one could be considered controversial, but I don’t care.  “Dear Mama” by Tupac is one of my favorite songs.  I was lucky enough to have my entire life spent in a two parent home with happy parents.  But with my father being in the military and being away a lot, mom had to do things on her own at times.  She would go to work, come home, make sure my siblings and I were taken care of, do other mom and responsible adult things, then do the same thing again the next day.  I’m sure it was hard on her sometimes.  I sure didn’t make it easy for her.  But she handled those times with a grace and finesse that I remember to this day.

Words nor songs will ever express how much I love and appreciate my mom.  They help but none of it will ever do her justice.  All I can do is continue to learn from her, revere her, honor her and lover her as best I can.  She has done so much for me that I will never be able to repay.  Only thing I can hope for is that I continue to use her teachings to live life to the fullest, be a blessing to others and just make her proud in general.

This entry was posted in Music.

One comment on “Songs for mama

  1. […] Songs for mama (kazekitty.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

