Grim Grinning Ghosts

I’m not sure where this sudden Disney phase is coming from.  Maybe I need to go rent a few movies or something.  I don’t know.  But fate is playing its hand in favor of the house of mouse.  My Ipod strikes again as always as I will now discuss the latest random find.

So I was attempting to sleep and had my music playing when “Grim Grinning Ghosts” comes on.  For those who don’t know this song is played somewhere during the Haunted Mansion attraction at Disney Land/World.  I don’t know if the song has changed or  been updated over the years, but I have the version that was obviously used in the very beginning.  Listening to the song proves how dated it is.  It’s so 1950s.  Which is what I find most charming about it.  The music, the way it’s arranged, the way the song is sang, it’s so campy.

I think I picked this up from the library at some point.  I can’t imagine where else I could have gotten this.  It had a story attached to it.  It basically tells about all the things you’ll see inside the attraction and wove an actual plot around them.  It’s short.  About 24 minutes long.  It’s actually pretty funny.  I’m glad I have it.  It’s like my own personal story time.

I don’t recall ever being creeped out by the Haunted Mansion.  After listening to the story and the song, it’ll be even harder as I’ll always have something to refer back to if I ever wind up at Disney ever again.  I always look forward to the hitchhikers at the end.

If you would like to join our jamboree,
There’s a simple rule that’s compulsory.
Mortals pay a token fee.
Rest in peace, the haunting’s free.
So hurry back, we would like your company.

Lyrics owned by DisneyCorp.

Leave a Reply

