This kiss…well maybe

Darn right I like Faith Hill!  I like country music.  She makes great music.  So it should be no surprise that I was jamming to one of her older songs.  And it was just the thing I needed to perk myself up since today I’ve been in pretty much of a deep spiraling funk.

“This Kiss” is so upbeat and peppy and happy and full of love, it’s impossible to stay depressed after hearing it.  If you find a way, then I have nothing to tell you.  It worked wonders for me.  With my Ipod on random, I wasn’t expecting to hear it at all.  It took me til my first listen through it that I was singing along with it.  I was totally unaware of it, so busy doing what I was doing.  Put it on repeat after that.

Sure it’s a song that I can’t relate to in any form.  I really wish I could.  It doesn’t detract from the greatness of the song.  My first kiss came to me when I was in 8th grade.  Needless to say I remember it as one of the most awkward and mortifying moments in my life that I look back on.  It’s a memory that kind of sadly affects me now.  After that of course there was more kissing and more boys/men.  That feeling of awkwardness never left me.  As a result I see myself as a terrible one.  It’s pretty ego crushing.

This song I can at least pretend that kissing is an awesome, not a horrible stomach turning experience.  I hear songs and I read books about it and I feel happy little butterflies in my stomach from those.  I’m pretty sure how I would feel if I was either, A: Good at it, B: didn’t really think about it so bad or C: Cared about the person I was engaged in it with.  I’m pretty sure, but can’t say for sure.  At the rate I’m going I may never know.  Oh well.  That’s another crisis for another day.

 

Leave a Reply

