Just the way I am

I started working out recently.  Like on the regular.  I have such a bad body image about myself.  And it’s shameful because a lot of people tell me that I’m very cute.  Well, today I actually believed some of those people.  And lo and behold, my confidence booster is over 9000!!  This whole changing of mindset thing has been challenging.  But over all I think I have become a better person for it.

That said, I found a song that I think I will listen to every day for the next couple of weeks.  One the way home I heard the song “Just the Way You Are” by Bruno Mars.  I’ve heard the song before, but I never knew who it was.  I also only just listened to it with half an ear.  Today I really listened to it and it just made my confidence soar a little higher.

I actually have that person who tells me that I’m beautiful, amazing and perfect as I am, but like most women I can’t take a compliment.  But after hearing that, I think that will be my theme and mantra for a while.  It made me feel so good.  And I like feeling good.  You act and think differently when you do.  It’s not something I do nearly enough.

So as I continue my journey to self improvement, I’ll have a great song that I can turn to to remind me that I am a great person, because I am me.  There is no one else like me(thank goodness :p) and that I am truly amazing just as I am right now.  It’s time for me to accept the truth for what it is.

This entry was posted in Music.

2 comments on “Just the way I am

  1. kazekitty says:

    I love this. The acoustic guitar at the beginning had already sold me before he started singing. I love stuff like this. The song is awesome and the message kinda comes close to home. I am going to listen to more of their stuff.

  2. Lara Eckener says:

    Changing how you think about you is harder than changing how other people do. At least, it is for me. I’m glad that you’ve been able to do feel awesome, because you ARE awesome. ♥

    One of the songs that always makes me feel better is ‘Relentless’ by Audrye Sessions: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r4Yu6MthU0Q

Leave a Reply

