Oh Oh Oh Amadeus!

So I get into a randomize my music mood and put the ole Ipod on shuffle.  The very first song that comes on is “Rock Me Amadeus” by Falco.  I have a love hate relationship with this song.  I love it because the song is so goofy that it’s fantastic.  And I hate it because it brings to mind a very embarrassing situation.

If you’ve never heard the song or seen the video, look it up.  It’s classic 80s nonsensical at its finest.  I have absolutely no idea what that man is saying in this song.  No clue.  I could look it up, but that would ruin it for me as I love the gibberish sounding way he says the lyrics.  The music is so 80s.  Once you hear that synthesizer I’m sure you’ll agree.

The video is weird.  That is the best term I can use to describe it.  I understand the guy is supposed to be the compose Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart.  I got that.  But still, whenever I see it, I walk away scratching my head trying to figure out what I just saw.  However, I can take this time to profess my love for powdered wigs.  At least that part made me happy.

Now for my embarrassing story.  Last year I was in the library because I needed to print something out.  I ended up staying long because I tend to get lost on the internet.  So I’ve got my headphones on while I’m surfing the web and I have the tendency to have the sound cranked up unnecessarily loud.  Then the song comes on and I’m grooving to it.  As I said I don’t know the words to the song, so I am just mumbling the nonsensical gibberish as only I know how.  Then the chorus comes on which the words I do know.

I look up from the monitor because I feel eyes on me.  Only to realize it is several pairs of eyes of people looking at me like I had sprouted a second head.  Turns out I was singing loud enough for the people in the immediate vicinity of my location could hear me.  So the fact that I was singing loudly in a library, combined with the fact that most of the lyrics are nonsensical gibberish and these people were not the type of people who listen to the types of music that I do, it was a pretty mortifying situation.

Needless to say, I have to be careful about this song.  It’s just so freaking weird and catchy.  It’s up my alley.  But I need to keep in mind that when my earbuds are in, the music is louder than necessary and if I want to sing along, I need to turn the volume down just a touch.

Leave a Reply

