Feel the vibrations

So watching a playthrough of one of the most painful video games in history, when the guy playing it just all of a sudden, for no particular reason starts singing Marky Mark and the Funky Bunch’s “Good Vibrations”.  My mouth hit the floor.  I hadn’t heard or gave a thought to that song since it vanished from the world.  It gave me a nostalgia kick right to the face.  He only sang the first part because he was concentrating.  So I decided to hunt it down on youtube.

I admit right now, that I jammed to this song back in the day.  I know I’m not alone in this.  Any one who says they weren’t ‘feeling the vibrations’ back in the early 90’s, I say to you ‘liar liar pants on fire’.  Listening to it again and watching the video has me asking one question…why?  We all have things we look back on and we facepalm.  This song is the musical rendition of ‘what the heck’ for me.

The music is awesome!  I love it!  I’m sure it’s ripped off from someone.  I could listen to a instrumental of it with the lady singing the hook.  But the song itself.  Oh God why.  It’s supposed to be a song to make you dance.  I get that. But what is he talking about?  It just random lyrics or am I missing something?

The video is even worse and just as random!  What the hell was I so impressed with in 91?  I guess it was the shirtless Mark Wahlberg.  I was only 12 at the time.  I was equally in love with his bro Donnie.  But it made no sense.  Between the random weightlifting, some chick doing a strip tease and the shadow dancers, I don’t get it. And looking back on it now, it’s so…90s.  Dated video is dated.

I understand Wahlbergs desire to distance himself ten moons away from this point in his life.  It’s a hall of shame that a lot of us have to live with forever.  Him for making it and us for liking it.  But moreso him as the evidence will follow him to the grave.  I don’t have this song, but I can’t say that I wouldn’t turn this into one of my guilty pleasure tunes next to The Divinyls “I Touch Myself” if I did.

 

Leave a Reply

