Wham!-o

So I’m in the process of removing myself from a pretty uncomfortable situation.  Though uncomfortable, I’m glad for the experience.  I know that A. I can handle such things and B. That I NEVER want to do this again.  Another life lesson learned.

So in the course of the week doing lots of traveling and I’m unable to play my Ipod in the car, I’ve had no choice but to listen the radio.  So I’m driving through town doing depressing, responsible grown up stuff when the song “Wake Me Up Before You Go Go” by Wham! comes on.  I have not heard this song in forever.  Hearing it made me instantly happy.

This song is cheesy and awesome 80s music at it’s most fantastic.  As a kid I never knew who sang it.  Heck aside from the ‘wake me up before you go go’ part I didn’t even know the words to the song.  I just knew that I was listening to greatness.  Once I found out that it was George Michael singing it, I loved it even more.  Though I can’t watch the video.  It just makes me want to face palm myself to death.

So naturally once I got back to my place of dwelling I got online to look up more of Wham’s music.  Aside from this song I hadn’t heard any of their other songs.  At least I thought so until I listened to “Last Christmas”.  I only hear that song like every other Christmas.  Depending on what station I listen to or what store I’m in.  But I love this song too.  It’s one of the greatest Christmas heartbreak songs ever.  And I love listening to George as he sings it.  His voice is just so dreamy.

This made me especially happy when I finally, FINALLY found “Careless Whisper”.  If he could sing this song to me every night before I went to sleep for the rest of my life, I would be the happiest person on earth.  Good God I love this song.  It showcased George Michaels’ vocal range and depth.  It showed he had soul.  And the song, though bittersweet, to me is one of the most romantic songs I’ve ever heard.

I hate when this happens though.  When I hear songs, love them, have no idea who sings them and lose them for years.  But that makes hearing it again so unexpectedly all the more epic.  I’m trying to secure their records so I can hear more.  After my research, I’m sure I’ve probably heard even more of their music already and just not know it.  Right now though, I’m gonna listen to “Careless Whisper” about 100 more times since I got it from Itunes.

Leave a Reply

