Groovies

Yeah! This post is very late.  Been having some problems lately and it makes writing a little difficult.  But here I am with more weirdness than should be humanly possible.

I was watching some retro cartoons on tv as I like to do because I’m grown.  I saw something that I haven’t seen in a while, but I definitely hadn’t forgotten about.  You guys remember about 10 years ago when Cartoon Network was awesome and it had the Groovies?  Those little songs were hilarious and fantastic.  I still remember most of them.

The one in particular that I saw was the Jabberjaw “Running Under Water” by Pain.  I love that one.  So much so that I bought the song on Itunes.   But I’d like the whole video.  The song in and of itself is great, but the video really brings it home.  I remember Jabberjaw as a kid.  I remember that I didn’t watch it as much.  In fact, I don’t think it was a very long show.  But the song sums up the show so nicely.  It makes me smile.

There was another one that had a bunch of cartoon characters walking around for no reason.  I didn’t understand the video, but LOVED the song.  This groovie gave me the song “Circles” by Soul Coughing.  And I am eternally grateful for it.  I like Soul Coughing so much.  Cartoon Network may suck now, but I give them credit for bringing this awesome group to my attention.  Find “Coffee Song”.  Right now.  Go.

Who can forget about the awesome rendition of the “Josie and the Pussycats” theme, where they sing it in several different music genres.  That one also is one where having the video as opposed to just the song is preferable.  I love how for every genre there was a different era style of dress to go along with it.  I don’t care what anyone says the KISS part is still the best part.

I actually also liked the Jonny Quest one too.  Even though it wasn’t an actual song attached to it.  The Jonny Quest theme just kicks butt.  And how it was done in like a live board game type setting.  I thought that was really creative.  I remember fondly the Six Million Dollar man sound effects thrown in there.

Cartoon Network.  A great idea.  A great network gone terribly terribly wrong.  I don’t understand why they deviated from such an awesome formula of awesome.  But they have and apparently will continue to do so going forward.  Pity.  It used to be one of my favorite channels.  Oh well.  Progress I guess.  I’ll let the kids of today have all that.  I’ll stick with the old stuff.

This entry was posted in Music.

Leave a Reply

