The perfect New Years song

Well, Christmas is over.  I have given honor to the Lord, my God.  The presents have been unwrapped.  Massive amounts of food have been consumed.  The welcomed chaos of family and friend overload.  I did indeed spend my Christmas Eve at the zoo as I stated and no, there was no hippo to be found.  But that little disappointment aside, I had a very lovely day.  And now I need a recharge.

While I do that let’s also take this time to think about the future.  The new year is right around the corner with it’s promise of better times, bountiful opportunities and essential life experiences.  So with this in mind I turn my thoughts to my musical exploits.  I have got so many artists to experience.  And I’m not including things that aren’t currently on my radar at the moment.  Yet the list is still massive.

Right now I was thinking about songs to ring in the new year with.  Me being an late ’70s baby, the quintessential song is Princes “1999”.  This has been my go to ring in the new year tune even after the year 1999 came and went.  The concept of living every second of your life like it will be your last should inspire you to never hesitate to do the things you want to do.  Live your life as you choose and win, lose or draw don’t apologize for it.  Learn and keep it moving.  As awesome as I still find this tune, I’m thinking it’s time for me to get a new one.  I’ve kicked around some ideas in my head, so let’s get into them.

One song that I’ve considered is Lee Ann Womack’s “I Hope You Dance”.  This song appeals to me a lot.  It speaks about living life to the absolute fullest, no matter where you are in your life.  Don’t get complacent, don’t get satisfied, don’t get comfortable.  Always reach for something more.  Learn more.  Do more.  Live more.  That line “Time is a wheel in constant motion always goading us along. Tell me who wants to look back on their years and wonder where those years have gone.”  That is the most powerful line in the song to me because it is exactly right.  Time isn’t going to wait for you to do what you need to do.  So get out there and get it done.  Then move on to the next goal.  Have something to talk about before you hit your next life.

We come to my surprising girl crush Jill Scott.  I love this woman.  I really do.  And I love her song “Golden”.  I consider this song because it reflects a change of mindset within me.  It hasn’t been beneficial to live my life in the shadows.  Being ok to just follow along and just being comfortable with the way things are.  It’s not ok to be ok with letting things happen to you instead of making things happen.  I want to be the person that makes things happen.  I want to walk with the dignity of a proud black woman.  To be able to go after the things that make me happy and actually get them.  I love the moon, but I want to be able to walk in the sun too.

HAHA!  Here is my curve ball and you all should have seen it coming cause I love throwing these out there.  Jamiroquai’s “Virtual Insanity”  This song in hindsight was actually pretty prophetic for when it came out.  We live in a technological world.  Unless you live out in the far off jungles or in the plains you can’t really escape it.  And probably not even there, but to lesser extent.  Whenever I hear this song, I used to think of “The Terminator” and the whole possibilities of things like Skynet taking over the world.  Now I think of “The Matrix”.  It’s actually a pretty scary ass thought for the future, but with the way technology constantly moving at the speed that it does, the possibilities could quite possibly exist some day.  Remember we’re human and kind stupid at times.  It’s not so hard for me to imagine that we will create our own destruction.  Food for thought next time you debate getting one of those robot vacuum cleaners.

What are some of your recommendations for a New Years song?  I am really curious to know.  I have other ideas, but I honestly don’t have all day.  I’d love to see what songs I’ve overlooked entirely, as you have seen I can get pretty out there, so maybe someone has an even stranger idea than I do.

See ya Thursday!