The Christmas Hippo Cometh

‘I want a hippopotamus for Christmas. Only a hippopotamus will do.  Don’t want a doll, some dinky Tinker toy.  I want a hippopotamus to play with and enjoy.  I want a hippopotamus for Christmas.  I don’t think Santa Claus will mind do you.  He won’t have to use a dirty chimney flue, just bring in through the front door that’s the easiest thing to do.  I can see me now on Christmas morning creeping down the stairs.  Oh what joy and what surprise when I open up my eyes to see a hippo hero standing there.  I want a hippopotamus for Christmas.  Only a hippopotamus will do.  No crocodiles or rhinoserous’s.  I only like hippopotamus’s and hippopotamus’s like me too!’

You wouldn’t think that a song about getting a dangerous animal for Christmas would be as timeless and cherished as “Oh Holy Night” or “White Christmas”.  But “I Want A Hippopotamus for Christmas” is indeed timeless and classic.  Like the “You’re a Mean One Mr. Grinch” I demand this song be played just as much as all the other Christmas tunes.  It’s awesome.  For those of you who think it’s irritating, fine.  I love it and I’ll blast it, so suck it.

Anyhow, for the longest time I thought that this was a fairly new song as the first time I heard it was at a department store I worked at in early 2000.  But nope it was first sung by a girl named Gayla Peevey back in the ’50s.  She was 10 then.  For a 10 year old, that’s a pretty strong and clear voice.  I had always thought that it was some adult trying to sound childlike.  So I was pretty impressed to learn that.

When I first heard it, it was so cooky and different, I liked it immediately.  And have so ever since.  It’s funny, when I am out and about and I hear it playing somewhere how some people will try to hide how into it they are.  I find it funny.  I always sing it when I hear it and I see people look at me funny, but they also smile.  I got guts!  Luckily I’ve found some people who I’ve captured and named them ‘friend’ who like the song just as much as I do.

I had planned to spend my day at Disney at some point for Christmas.  But I figure everyone else in the world is thinking the same thing.  I don’t want to spend my holiday waiting in lines.  So with this song as inspiration, I’ve decided to drive an hour out and hit up the zoo instead.  I’m pretty sure it won’t be as busy.  So like young Ms. Peevey here, I’ll get myself a hippo for Christmas.  If not the animal itself, then at least a really good picture of one.

Merry Christmas and Happy Holiday everybody!

