A quick side note.

I’ve censored the following, in protest of a bill that gives any corporation and the US government the power to censor the internet–a bill that could pass THIS WEEK. To see the uncensored text, and to stop internet censorship, visit: http://americancensorship.org/posts/9100/uncensor

I ██████ ████ to ████ you. I ████ to ████. I ████ to ████ a lot. ██████████ you ██████ don’t ████ ███████ ████ I ████ to say. You █████ ████ ████ ████ so ███████ of ███████ ████ ██████.

Uncensor This

A pretty disturbing Christmas Song or is it?

It’s funny that at times you listen to songs you’ve heard over and over again and for some reason you finally pay attention to the lyrics and go ‘what the hell?!’.  Well, Christmas time has gifted me with such a song.  I dedicate this post to my good friend, my sister in all things geek, fellow snarker supreme and just all around awesome, Caela_rue.  Happy Birthday!!

If it hadn’t been for  her revelation about an argument over a particular song that plays every Christmas, I would still totally not have even thought about the implications of what this particular song is speaking about…allegedly.

The song “Baby, It’s Cold Outside” has been the subject of hot debate between my good buddy and her roommate.  See she is adamant that the song is an obvious situation of potential date rape.  The roommate of course does not subscribe to this thought process.

The song basically is centered around a woman trying to leave some guy and go home and he is doing everything in his power to get her to stay with him.  Sounds like a normal date and a normal dude.  The argument seems to have some weight to it once this part pops up

The neighbors might think – Baby, it’s bad out there
Say, what’s in this drink – No cabs to be had out there

The first time I REALLY listened to this song after hearing about the debate, I admit I had to give this line the serious side-eye.  Really, ‘what’s in this drink?’  How do you put yourself in a situation where you have to ask such a question?  A.  You are trying to leave.  B.  Never take your eyes off the person making your drink.  C. Obviously you don’t trust this person, otherwise the question wouldn’t have occurred to you.

My question tends to lean towards how did she get there?  She obviously didn’t drive.  Why doesn’t he just take her home?  I realize this song was written in the dark ages where women had no souls and therefore had no rights…wait, no, that’s something else.  She lived in a time period where it was extremely improper and frowned upon for a girl to be out late with a man.  People latched on to this type of thing and gossiped like crazy.  Which I see she is trying to avoid, but it’s a bit late to be concerned with that, so have the dude roll you to the house and take your lumps.  That’s my take.

As for old boy, I see him as a typical dude.  He had a fun time with pretty girl and doesn’t want the night to end.  He knows she had fun too and as long as he can convince her there is more fun to be had he’s gonna try everything in the arsenal.  I don’t think he meant any kind of serious harm.

I’ve been in this situation before.  Sometimes the art of persuasion works and sometimes it don’t.  In the context of this song I guess it kinda did.  But for my good buddy, she has her beliefs and God knows I’m not gonna change her mind on it for anything in the world.  It’s too darn entertaining of a debate.  And I do understand where she’s coming from and I admit that it’s weird.  The real issue is why is this even a Christmas song?  That, my friends, is another debate entirely.