Linus and Lucy

Well it’s December and that means it’s almost Christmas.  It’s the most wonderful time of the year.  Personally I don’t get as much excited about Christmas like I used to.  I’m just happy to have two days off and a chance to sleep all day.

I do however love listening to Christmas music.  At least AFTER Thanksgiving, I like to.  It the one time of year where I can hear the same song by 20 different people and still enjoy it.  Of course I’ll always enjoy the classic versions over the newer ones.

Today I’m going to focus on one of my favorites.  Everyone by now should be familiar with Charlie Brown Christmas special.  They play it every single year.  It’s a classic and I’ll go as far as to say that your Christmas holiday is incomplete if you don’t watch it.  Yeah I said it!!

However what I want to talk about is the famous tune “Linus and Lucy”.  I LOVE this! I really do.  It does not matter where I am, in the store, in the car, at work.  If that music is playing I will stop what I’m doing and listen to it.  Those first chords on that piano start and I’m sold and committed for 3 minutes.

This song continues to keep the fuel of my desire to learn to play piano burning.  It would be a crowning achievement for me if I could play this on my own.  The music is so beautiful.  And I love that bass that comes in during the last minute.  That element of jazz compels me to love it.

If you haven’t heard it(and I don’t know how that can be possible) look it up and give it a listen.  It’s a fantastic and lighthearted tune.  Let me know what you think.  If you have and don’t like it, I’d like to hear an explanation for your madness. LOL!