Thanksgiving mix

Well here we are on Thanksgiving 2011!  Can you believe it’s almost 2012?  Time sure flies when you’re living.  Know something that always bothers me about this particular holiday?  It’s not the food.  Heck, that’s my favorite part!  It’s not getting to hang out with relatives both awesome and annoying.  My family is huge and both of the aforementioned, but they’re mine and I wouldn’t trade them for anything.  It’s not the sitting with this same family and taking time to reflect on life, each other and our history and giving thanks for all of it.

No.  The thing that bugs me to no end about Thanksgiving is that even before the turkey legs, dressing and gravy hit the table, everyone, everywhere has already broken out the Christmas music!  I was sitting in Starbucks a week ago for my weekly write in and as I walk in to order my chai tea latte, I hear a really bad rendition of “Walking In A Winter Wonderland”.

The clerk at the counter thought that I was pissed off about something.  I’m assuming my face had this disgusted WTF look to it.  I got my latte, got a seat in surprisingly my favorite leather chair and thought to myself, ‘why?’  Why does this happen every year?  It’s like…it’s like, ‘It’s Thanksgiving, Merry Christmas!’

Where is the Thanksgiving music?  Are there no songs out there about giving thanks, reflections or chowing down on turkey legs anywhere?  Well damn it, I DO have a Thanksgiving themed mix that I have for myself that make me think of what I think T-Day is all about.  Here is some of it.

William DeVaughn – Be Thankful For What You Got
Sister Sledge – We Are Family
Martina McBride – Blessed
Prince – 1999
India Arie – A Beautiful Day
Floetry – Blessed 2 Have
Kool and the Gang – Celebration
MC Hammer – Gaining Momentum (this song makes me think of mom)

Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours!

Leave a Reply

