Mary Mary

I have to admit, I don’t really listen to Mary Mary all that much.  It isn’t that I don’t like them at all.  Every time I happen to hear them, I like what they’re doing.  It’ s just that when I think about sitting down and really listening to more of their stuff, something…I hate to say more “interesting”comes along, but there is no other way to describe it.

I remember when they first came out with “Shackles”, I was surprised they were playing gospel music on a contemporary radio station.  The song is great.  But I did not pay all that much attention to it.  At least not the first billion times they played it.  The song grew on me.  Then I outgrew it.  I still like the song, but I can die happy if I don’t hear it too often.

After that, I swear, as of this writing I don’t believe I heard from them again.  I am going backwards to see cause I very well could be wrong.  Like I said, that last song played on a contemporary station, so it very well could be one of those situations where I hear a song, love it, but have no idea who sings it or what the title is.  That happens to me quite often.  I hate that.

What made me think so heavily about them because once again thanks to radio, I heard a song off of their latest cd.  The song “Walking” is the bomb.  It’s so uplifting and happy and positive.  I can’t help but smile like an idiot and sing along whenever it comes on.  And now that I’ve acquired the cd this happens a lot.

Yesterday for the first time I heard their song “Survive”.  That song is my new personal anthem.  It describes in perfect harmony how I look at my life as it stands right now.  I’ll admit that there are those out there who are far worse off than I am.  I know this.  But I will not diminish my person struggle and hardships.  Why should I?  This song is all about looking at everything that you’ve been through, seeing how you got through it, and came out of it a better person. I hear this song and think, ‘Yes, I DID it.  I survived!’  This song fills me with happy.

And it is that song and the happy feeling it gave me that is making me go back now, through all their music they’ve put out over the years and it’s a lot more than I thought, and see what I missed.  I’m a little slow in realizing their talent and greatness and their ability to uplift people through music, but I’ve got it and I’m anticipating to be washed away in a stream of joy and happiness.

Leave a Reply

