New music that isn’t really new.

It’s been an not nice couple of days.  Last week was one of the worst weeks in sporting news history, I’ve got a relative in the hospital, my periods going(TMI I know, shut up and deal) and I find that I’m losing valuable hours at work this holiday.  Suffice it to say, I’ve not been in the greatest of moods.

It’s during these times I turn to new music for solace.  What do I mean by music?  For me, new music isn’t necessary new as in what’s current.  Not totally.  New as in it’s stuff that I haven’t heard yet.  Things I’ve always wanted to listen never got around to, but will at the moment take the time to sit and listen to and expand my music repertoire.  Can’t be a music blog and leave out musical experiences.   Today I wanted to listen to some rock and metal cause sometimes they’re more musical than lyrical.

At this time I’m listening to Ozzy Osbourne’s “Crazy Train” because that’s one of the songs Youtube gave me when I put him in search.  And listening to it, I feel that it’s appropriate for me right now.  Cause I do feel like I’m going off the rails.  I literally hate the world right now.  And I also wanted to point out that I didn’t realize that the beginning riff and beat was from this song.  Some rapper that I can’t remember the song had it and that’s how I first heard it.  This is proof that everyone listens to everyone elses music.  Now I got to get up on my Ozzy Osbourne.  Apparently I’ve missed some great stuff.

A band that I’ve always wanted to hear, but never took the time to was Slayer.  Hanging around a friend who is in a band and plays this kind of music, made me go ahead and seek it out.  I listened to the song “Criminally Insane” because that’s just an awesome name for a song.  I LOVE the music.  Have no idea what the hell is being said, but the guitars were kicking my ass.  It’s great.  And added to the itunes cue.

And I finally got around to listening to Smashing Pumpkins.  I remember they were huge during my time in /middle/high school.  But I was too busy listening to Dr. Dre’s “The Chronic” and Alanis Morrisette to pay attention.  I chose to hear the song “1979” cause that’s the year I was born and is therefore awesome.  Billy Corgan is creepy looking in this video.  But I really like his voice.  He has a unique sound.  I’m trying to draw a comparison and I can’t.  Anyway, hearing this song alone makes me want to check out more.

And just like that I feel a bit better.  Trust me, I’ve heard a lot more than just these songs here.  But I don’t got all day.  It’s good to get away from stuff you hear every day and get a new sound.  There is just so much music in the world it’s difficult to keep up with it all.  Which is great for me, it gives me something to do and more to look forward to.

Leave a Reply

