Evanescence

 

Evanescence.  Meaning ‘the event of fading and gradually vanishing from sight’.  That’s what the dictionary says, so we’ve all learned something today.

Evanescence!  An AWESOME rock band that I’m happy that I caught on to.  I’m listening to them now.  They released their latest work last month.  I’ve only heard the latest single “What You Want”.  I can’t wait to hear the rest of it.

Fallen is one of my favorite albums.  I listen to it all the time.  I was telling a friend the other day that if I was a song written that perfectly described me it would be “Imaginary”.  That is my favorite song on the track.  The whole sentiment that my imaginary world is preferable than the real world is spot on.  I have my own music video for it that plays in my head when I hear it.  Staring ME!

That song “My Immortal” is one of the most beautifully vocalized songs I’ve ever heard.  This is the song that in a sense immortalized Amy Lee for me.  Her vocal talent caught me off guard.  It was like someone smacking me in the face to get my attention.  He voice is that arresting in this song.  However, I can’t listen to this song as much as I used to.  As weird as it sounds, I’ve burned myself out on it.  Same with “Bring Me To Life”.

‘Fear is only in our minds, taking over all the time’.  This is what is told to us when listening to “Sweet Sacrifice”.  I think my girl crush on Amy jumped about ninety nine thousand points.  At first this was merely a kick ass song.  Now that I have actively tried to change myself for the better, this is an anthem.  Showing no fear is hard sometimes, but it’s necessary to get to the things you want.

And this may sound really stupid, but I don’t care.  I liked the song “Lacrymosa” before I even heard it.  That’s because it made me think of a video game series that I like alot.  But upon hearing it, the music gave me the shivers.  The theme of letting go of a lost love or them letting go of you is something I can kind of relate to.  It all goes back to high school.  To Alabama.  Yeah! It’s past time to let that go now.

I don’t say this a lot, but I want to see this group in concert.  That has got to be one of the most profoundly intensive experiences ever.  I love these guys.  And like I said, I eagerly await purchasing their new album.  Now excuse me, my theme song is on.

Leave a Reply

