Male Vocal Groups New Edition

So I’m sitting here thinking about what the heck I’m going to spew about this time when divine intervention was bestowed upon me.  A song from New Edition came on and I was filled with maniacal glee.  So let’s look into this devastatingly awesome male vocal group, shall we?

Remember the post I did on another Boston-based male vocal group.  If not, check it out.  You can’t speak on 80s boy groups without speaking of New Edition.  For me, these guys are the ultimate. The front-runners.  The model! Good God did I love them.  Correction I DO love them.

Sure they came into popularity when I was only 4 but that’s inconsequential.  I ran around belting out “Candy Girl” and “Cool It Now” as only my little girl self knew how.  Did I care about the lyrics?  Did I even know what they meant?  Of course not.  All I know was that the singing was awesome, the music was awesome and I thought I could sing it, therefore the songs were awesome. And I was awesome!  Unfortunately looking back, once again the bad 80s fashion retrospect is unkind.

I don’t remember the first time I heard “Can You Stand The Rain”.  All I know that out of every song they’ve got out, this is my favorite.  It soothes me.  It actually helps me kick start my imagination/deep thought process.  I listen to it when I feel the need to write.  It’s weird.  But I’m weird, so yeah.

Not gonna go into group history or lineup changes or anything like that.  That’s why God invented wikipedia.  But like other successful entities, they weren’t without their undesirable quirks.  Like the fact that they’re dirty Celtics/Red Sox fans (Los Angeles fan here).  And yes,  I have fun beefin’ with a couple of them during basketball season.  But musically, in my opinion they can do no wrong.

Ronnie, Bobby, Ricky, Mike, Ralph and Johnny(I LOVE me some Johnny! Mmmmm!!)  just have the right mix of vocal talent, appeal, subject matter, and music that has kept them staples in my music playlist to today.  And they are still going strong.  Please, please, please keep making good music!  Anyone who for whatever reason has not heard any of their music, I urge you to check it out.  You won’t be disappointed.

Just for the record “Popcorn Love” was the divine intervention that kicked off my writing this.

Leave a Reply

