Disney knows how to keep a song in my heart

I know I’m late today.  It’s been a very busy day.  But it’s good because I’ve gotten a lot done.  Also because I have become aware now that Disney Princesses on Ice is gonna be in town.  What?  I’m a big 11-year-old.  I love Disney and will run around Disney World with the kiddies with little to no shame whatsoever.

This got me thinking about my favorite Disney tunes.  Those who know me really well know that Peter Pan is my favorite Disney Character, but what about my favorite song?  I have several.

“A Whole New World” from “Aladdin is my favorite.  Why?  I’m a hopeless romantic.  No point in my trying to keep that part of me locked up.  I like the idea of love at first sight and happily ever after.  These are nifty thing that  people should be able to look forward to.  However, being that I am the kind of girl that I am, I am very realistic when it comes to human relations.  This just does not work in real life.  But that’s the neat thing about Disney.  We can at least dream.

“Poor Unfortunate Souls” from “Little Mermaid”.  This song, especially with the visuals of the film just crack me up.  It’s so twisted.  And the way that Ursula sings it in that ‘you are really stupid if you believe anything I say’ subtly and humorously.  That and it’s just fun to sing.  Everyone else sings “Under the Sea”.  I’ll stick with this one cause I live to be different.

“Baby Mine” from Dumbo.  Though this song reduces me to a snotty nose, puffy eyed mess, I love this song.  It’s so beautiful and I can’t help think of my mom.  It’s a song about that strong maternal love that a mother has for her child and Oh My God, I’m starting to tear up right now just thinking about it, so…

“The Second Start To The Right” from Peter Pan.

The second star to the right, shines in the night for you. To tell you that the dreams you have really do come true. 

As a kid I totally believed this.  I loved the idea of wishing on the stars at night before I went to sleep.  I’d wish the next day that I’d get taller.  The next night I’d wish to be prettier.  The night after that I’d wish to be an only child.  None of those things actually happened so I’m not sure why I still like this song cause it evidently lied to me.  And although I still want to be taller and prettier, I’d like to keep my siblings, thank you very much.

I got plenty others, but I’m leaving it here for now.  I’ll more than likely revisit this another day.  Now, I’d like to see if I can actually afford to go to this show cause I really want to see it.

Now it’s time to say goodbye to all our company. M I C, see ya real soon, K E Y why because we like ya, M O U S E!

One comment on “Disney knows how to keep a song in my heart

  1. […] Disney Knows How To Keep A Song In My Heart by kazekitty took two of my favorite interests, Disney and music. Now you would think this would be an odd mix to relate with me and what I will blog about, being Filipino American. I’m looking at this as a whole picture. Defining stanzas of lyrics and depicting the correlation of the lyrics with the song writer versus my life may be relatable. Like I said, many songs you can relate to your own life and helps convey what, sometimes, you can’t express. Songs sums up exactly what you’re feeling without you yourself being so direct with your own words. As the stereotype goes, Asians are quiet, passive, indirect, especially for Asian American women. There are many emerging voices exploring cultures, identities, growing up as Asian Americans. We are still learning different ways to fully express ourselves and for beginners, capturing the essence and moral of songs extracted from the lyrics really play a huge part and helps. […]

Leave a Reply

