Once upon a Nightwish

I’d like to take this moment to thank the Nostalgia Critic and the Angry Video Game Nerd for making my internet life that much more entertaining.  You guys are awesome!  I’d also like to thank them for unintentionally introducing me to the music of Nightwish.

I am falling in love with this band.  The two aforementioned gentlemen through their internet tomfoolery, had me listening to the song “Ghost Love Score”  And in the words of the Critic ‘That song kicks ass!’  The mix of metal guitars and drums with the freaking London Philharmonic Orchestra and the fantastic operatic voice of Tarja Turunen was unlike anything I had heard before.  I watched their video over and over again until I got tired of them talking over the music and decided to buy the song on itunes.

However I learned that if I wanted to listen to this song to my hearts content, I had to buy the whole cd.  I balked at first at this Draconian rule being imposed on me, but upon further thought, I figured I’d give the whole thing a shot.  And I’m glad I did.  The album “Once” is fantastic from start to finish.  I’ve listened to it repeatedly, so I consider it money well spent.

Having not seen too many movies by Uwe Boll (and I intend to keep it this way) I had no idea that one of their songs made it into one of his films.  From what I understand he used their song “Wish I Had An Angel” in “Alone In The Dark”.  The song is awesome.  The movie not so much.  I will give Boll credit for having great musical taste.  Any other props to the man and I may have to have myself committed.  So I’ll leave that right there.

The song “Kuolema Tekee Taiteilijan” is a beautiful slow orchestrated song that is entirely in Finnish.  I have no idea what is being said or what it means aside from the title. The title apparently means ‘Death Makes An Artist’.  And the fact that I don’t understand this song doesn’t matter to me in the slightest.  The vocals of Tarja Turunen sells the song.  I love her voice.  I’m jealous of it.  I want it.   This song will be played at my funeral one day, hopefully in the super distant future.

The song that I listen to over and over and OVER again is “Planet Hell”.  The beginning sounds like it should be in some kind of movie trailer.  Then about a minute in the electric guitar kicks in and it is just kickassness for the rest of the song.  It’s music like this that keeps my hope that one day I’ll learn to play the guitar alive.  I find myself belting out ‘save yourself and a penny for the ferryman, save yourself and let them suffer’ at the most random times and I get the weirdest looks and it’s both embarrassing and pretty freaking sweet.

From my research the dynamic of the band has changed since this album.  Tarja Turunen is no longer lead singer being the biggest one.  So in that I kind of have some trepidations about listening to their later albums since her voice was part of what made me love this album.  But that would be totally unfair of me and for all I know they could be better than ever now.  I will most definitely be going back for their earlier works to hear how they started out and how they’ve progressed up til the point when Tarja left.  Then I will go forward and see where they’ve gone and keep the hope that there is still something for me to get lost in.

Leave a Reply

