Melanie Fiona

In anticipation of her next album which is supposed to be out in November of this year, I’d like to talk about Melanie Fiona.  She hasn’t been around all that long, but she has left a serious impression on me.  I really love her sound.  Though it’s not unique, it is worlds different from what is super popular right now.  It saddens me how underrated she is.

Her debut album The Bridge which came out in 2009 is a fantastic album.  I’m almost insulted that it didn’t get bigger than it did.  Depending on what song you’re listening to you can hear influences from the Do Wop era, the old school Motown era, some jazz…all the while putting a perfectly soulful spin of her own on it and it’s fabulous.

I recall only hearing three songs hearing from this album on radio stations.  The first and possibly one of the best was the song “Give It To Me Right”.  I love this song! I think it is brilliantly arranged and executed.  That bluesy bass guitar renewed my desire to learn how to play because guitars are sexy.  The subject matter of the song has placed it in my top 10 personal theme songs.

The other song I remember hearing a lot of was ‘It Kills Me’.  Nice little R&B tune about heartbreak and love gone wrong.  This one was her first song to hit #1 on the R&B charts according to my research.  It’s a very nice song.  And I like it, it’s just that it’s not one of my favorites on the cd.  It had they that air of typical about it especially for when it came out.  There was nothing distinguishing this song from all the other R&B artist out there singing about the exact same thing.

I believe that the other song was ‘Ay Yo’.  At first I didn’t even know that this was her.  It was one of those instances where I would keep hearing the song, but the radio djs would not state the artists name.  I would blast my stereo when this song came on.  It was so uplifting and upbeat and it made me smile.  Still makes me smile.  When she says “And I’m gon rock it to the fullest in this life, so I’mma give it all I got before I die” how can you not be pumped and say HELL YEAH!

I have two ultra faves.  One is ‘Bang Bang’!  I have this song on two different playlists on my ipod.  It doesn’t make any sense for it to be on one of them, but I insist on hearing this song as often as possible and it isn’t only about its ballsy subject matter.  The music, the way she sings it, everything about this song is just 360 degrees of badassery and I will stop what I’m doing and just listen to it without distractions.

The other song is ‘Johnny’.  I don’t know why but this song totally makes me think of the 50’s.  Poodle skirts, saddle shoes and Chevy convertibles.  It makes absolutely no sense at all.  Maybe it’s the way it’s composed, maybe it’s the background singers, maybe because of the name Johnny.  I don’t know and I don’t waste my time trying to analyze it.  I like the song like crazy.  I get a kick out of it.

I can’t wait til her next album comes out.  It will be the first time in a long time that I’ve bought a whole cd.  And I really hope it’s worth it.  I hope that she stays true to herself and not let the executive douchebags in the expensive suits change her.  If she does that and at the same time grow as an artist and continues to be unique, I will support her music.  I hope people who didn’t listen to her first album go back and give it a listen.  It was a brilliant body of work and she totally deserves to get a lot more recognition from here on out.

Leave a Reply

