Call me maybe, never

Hey, I just heard you.  And this is crazy.  This song is silly.  Leave my head quickly.  Oh my God, people.  It has been the most annoying couple of days.  All because of that song “Call Me Maybe” by Carly Rae Jepsen.  I mean, I have been singing it for the past two days.  Nonstop.  And it is driving me absolutely bonkers.

Here’s the thing.  I have a radio station that is set at my job.  I don’t know what it is cause it’s set by my company.  But it pretty much is like techno versions of songs.  Some I recognize, some I didn’t.  This song is one of the ones I constantly heard but didn’t know what it was or who it was.  And this particular techno version is really cool.

So I would sing along with the parts that I could hear and understand and when the song was over I forgot about it completely.  So I’m driving home and I hear the actual recording of it.  It is WAY different.  Admittedly I like the music for the regular song.  What with the violins and all.  My issue comes from the lyrics.

I get home and I look up the song on Vevo to give it a good listen.  What I heard kind of didn’t make sense, so I looked up the lyrics.  Which made me feel both better and worse.  Better because I can hear properly that the song made no sense and horrified because the song makes NO sense.

First of all, it sounds kind of stalkerish to me.  If I was a guy and a girl said this to me I’d have to give her the side eye.  There is such a thing as too eager.  Secondly, we don’t live in a world where it’s safe to give our numbers out to strange people.  For me personally no one has my personal phone number unless they are family and friends.  Everyone else gets the email treatment.  Get through that and maybe I may think of giving that number out.  Lastly this line ‘Before you came into my life, I missed you so bad’.  Um, what?

No seriously, what is that?  That is not a thing that someone says.  Why?  Because it doesn’t make sense.  How do you miss someone before you meet them?  How do you miss anything that you’ve never experienced?  That’s like me saying I miss France just because I have a french name, despite the fact that I’m American and have never been to France.  How is that line endearing?  How is it that it is the most memorable and catchiest part of the song?

The greatest question of all is why is this song stuck in my head.  I’ve heard multiple songs since then and yet I keep going back to it.  What’s worse is that I’m spreading the insanity and getting it stuck in other peoples heads.  It’s crazy.  I’m sorry to those people too.  I need to purge this from my mind.  But it’s powerful in its catchy nonsensical way.  Help me!!

Leave a Reply

