Unwritten

So I kept hearing this song on the radio and for whatever reason thought it was Kelly Clarkson singing it.  All I knew was a couple of lines from it and that it sounded like her.  So imagine my level of annoyance when I get home to check Youtube to hear it and not finding it.  I’ve heard a lot of Clarkson’s music, but not all.  So it was easy enough to filter out what I was looking for.  So when I didn’t find it I was perplexed.

This perplexing predicament lasted a while until I finally found out the title of the song.  Turns out it was Natasha Bedingfield’s song “Unwritten”.  And no, she and Kelly Clarkson sound absolutely nothing alike.  I have no idea what I was thinking.  Well, yes I do.  It seems like the kind of song that Ms. Clarkson would sing.  But whatever.  I was wrong, but now I have my song.

It’s another one of those uplifting tunes that speaks to me.  Like some other songs I’ve written about talking about living life to the fullest.  I especially love the line where she says ‘Drench yourself in words unspoken’.  I find this profound.  What does that mean? I honestly would like to know.  Seriously.  I don’t have my own interpretation of the line.  And it fascinates me.

And it comes to me at a great time.  With the week I’ve had, my confidence has gotten a little shaken.  I hate when that happens.  Everything always goes downhill from there.  I intend to not let that happen this time.  My future is at stake.  I gotta learn to take the bad, the horrible, the awful as well as the good the great and the terrific.  All those are necessary to make me into the person I am meant to be.

Whether these situations I’ve been through will make me a better person or not remains to be seen.  Everything that I’m doing right now is helping determine my tomorrow in some form or another.  I guess that is the beauty of not being able to see the future.  The not knowing.  The possibility that I will indeed be greater and do greater things.  So let’s see how tomorrow plays out.

Leave a Reply

