The song that keeps on trolling

I’m sure I’m not alone.  At least that is my hope.  You ever hear a song or a whole record and end up loving it despite the shame and stigma that may go along with it?  You hear it on the radio and you find yourself turning it down a bit so that you can groove in peace and not let the next car over hear what you’re listening to.  It’s on your Ipod and you hit the button for the next song when someone comes up on you.  You’ve never done that? You LIE!!

So I’m sitting at work the other night.  The radio is blowing my eardrums to hell as usual and it’s a night like any other.  Then it happens.  The first chords of the beat machine hits my ears, my toes start to tap and I know I’m in for 4 minutes of euphoric embarrassment in front of a lot of people.  The song…Lou Bega’s Mambo No.5.  He begins to sing and in spite of myself so do I.

I can’t explain why this song is so powerful.  I both love it and hate it.  It brings me such nostalgic joy.  I know all the words.  I can dance to it.  I can own it.  It’s the perfect karaoke song.  Then the song ends and I realize once again that it’s a stupid song.  The music is stupid.  The lyrics are stupid.  The whole thing is stupid.  At first I couldn’t understand why the song existed.  But then I came to the conclusion that it is around simply to troll me.  That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

Leave a Reply

