Luigi Boccherini

I am a huge fan of the website That Guy with the Glasses.  It’s entertaining and funny and I love all the talented reviewers and critics there.  It was on this website that I heard a great classical tune that has since captured my heart and opened me up to the experience of a great classical composer.  One of the sketches I watch called the Bum Reviews always opens up with the piece called “Minuetto” by Luigi Boccherini.  I love this tune.  It makes me want to be in one of those uncomfortable Renaissance dresses and sipping tea somewhere extravagant.

Boccherini is an Italian composer and cellist.  He isn’t a classical composer I am familiar with.  I’d heard “Minuetto” for years and never knew the name of the piece or the composer.  I actually finally found out earlier this week while watching one of my favorite Let’s Players of all people.  And thus the search for more of his music began.

So far I’ve listened to a couple of his Sonatas.  Whoever is playing these pieces are excellent musicians.  They have captured the soul of the cello and have brought the music to life.  I find them soothing.  Very soothing.  One particular violin sonata makes me sleepy.  It’s not easy trying to stay awake to hear the beautiful music when it relaxes every bone in my body.

As a huge fan of the violin I like the violin sonata that I heard earlier, but I can’t remember it now because I’m currently listening to his “Rondo for violin & harpsichord” and whoever is playing the harpsichord is killing it.  It is fascinating.  I know what a harpsichord is of course, but it’s rare that I come across getting to hear one.  No modern musician uses the thing, which is a real shame.  It’s an amazing instrument that produces a very unique sound.  I hear it more in certain game soundtracks than anywhere else.

I’ve not heard a whole lot.  The man has over 500 compositions.  It’s going to take me a while to A. track them all down and hear them, and B. to understand them and form a more educated opinion.  From what I’ve heard so far, I’m sure I’m going to be blown away.  Classical music is music in its purest and honest forms.  It’s easy to write a song.  Not so easy to compose a piece.  It’s one of those unexplainable cosmic things where a person has to take all that they are and translate it into music.  It’s hard, it’s exhausting, but in the end you have something really beautiful.

Leave a Reply

