When You Believe

Yesterday was one of the greatest days of my life.  I finally swallowed my fear and quieted my doubts long enough to trust God and get into the culinary school I’ve been dreaming about going to for the past 2 years.  It feels so amazing.  I feel amazing.  The thing(meaning money or lack thereof) that stopped me last time and every other time afterwards didn’t stop me this time.  Sure I have to come up with $5k somehow.  But stressing over it and pulling back is like playing Russian roulette with my future.

I’m writing this post at 4:30 in the morning because I was awoken by an inspiring song that captures my situation almost perfectly.  I don’t remember too much about the movie “The Prince of Egypt”, but I know very well one of the songs on the soundtrack.  Whitney Houston and Mariah Carey singing the song “When You Believe” is an appropriate tune to describe how I’m feeling right now.

I have been so blindsided by lack of cash that it has controlled all my thoughts and dictated all my actions.  This has caused me to waste a lot of years by doing absolutely nothing.  As a woman of faith it has gotten all the easier to quiet my thoughts and trust in the higher power and not hinder what He’s trying to do for me.  Before I didn’t allow myself to believe such things.  But as I’ve discovered it makes things so much easier and helps me be a lot more decisive a lot sooner.  And make those decisions without fear.

So yes, I now have another $5k worth of debt.  But I believe that I will get done what I need to do to obtain it.  There are too many resources out there, too many people that I know that believe in me and my dream that I can make it.  And with the Lord on my side all those things will come together for me.  It’s not going to be immediate and it’s not going to be easy.  But it’s not supposed to be.  Like with anything it’s going to take a lot of hard work from me.  Which I know I have the skill and the ability to do.  What’s different now is that I have the right mindset which has given me the drive and the determination.

I am bent on making my dream come true.  I am now comfortable with exercising my faith to do it.  It has proven to work.  I’ve seen it.  I’m not going to allow anyone, especially myself. to sway me from this truth.  Things happen if you pray on it, work on it, and believe in it.  As long as I hold on to this nothing is going to stop me from achieving the greatness I know I was meant to show the world.

Leave a Reply

