Ahh Valentines Day!

Well it’s Valentines Day!  Love is in the air.  Plenty of chocolate, roses and cards to go around.  Jewelry sales are up and Hallmark is loosing their minds.  Capitalism at it’s finest.

So, aside from the fact that I’m a cynic and don’t really care for the day, I’m going to turn my thoughts to romantic music.  Some great tunes that people can have playing as they sit across from each other over that candlelit dinner, making googly eyes at each other.  The sounds of love through the decades.

Doesn’t it seem sometimes that some music was made just for moments like this?  I know that is silly today as music has been around for thousands of years before Valentines Day existed.  But still sometimes I think that some artists had romance on the brains when they came up with a lot of their music.  Slow, sensuous, suggestive, there are far too many songs to name that people listen to when they want to get in the mood for love…or play at their weddings.

Though I may not be a fan of V-Day, I am a fan of love songs.  My perfect love song is “Truly” by Lionel Richie.  I honestly just love this song.  As much as I would love to be a bachelorette for life, I sometimes wish I had that special someone that I could attach this song to.   I’m not a girl who has ever been very good at expressing myself.  I need other avenues to do it.  Mostly through music.  Is it weird that this song is older than I am.  It came out in the 70s.  Most people identify with songs that are current.  I could be wrong about that though.

Are romantic songs always slow?  That was a question that popped into my head as I was writing this.  Of the top I couldn’t be sure.  I had to shuffle through my Ipod for a bit to see if I could locate one.  I landed on a song that I think is romantic, yet I can kind of dance to it.  “Love Song” by The Cure.  This song is groovy!  I think I first heard it in like the late 90s.  I was hanging out with one of my aunts and I heard it.  Fell in love the the music.  Don’t know what it is about 80s synthesizers but they are freaking neat.  This song proves it.  Plus the message is really sweet.

I don’t think at any point in my life I’ve had a real Valentine.  In fact, thinking on it now, I’m sure of it.  I remember in high school we had Jodeci’s “Diary of a Mad Band” out as well as R. Kelly’s “12 Play” album.  Those were what the other people were getting their Valentines on to.  I still listen to those albums now.  They are just as fantastic now as they were then.   Heck I listen to this era of music more than any other.  Name me a current album where you can get your romance on for the entire thing?  I can wait.

It’s not to say that we don’t have an recent and beautiful romantic songs.  “No Air” by Jordan Sparks and Chris Brown comes to mind for me.  I listened to this song to utter death.  It was the most heartfelt, beautiful and romantic song I had heard in a while.  To be so in love with a person that you can’t bear to breath without them was touching to me.  If only love that deep truly existed.

Happy Valentines Day to all of you who care about it.  As for me, Valentines Day brings me two things.  Cheaper candy prices and cheaper wine.  Both of which I will enjoy whilst watching some old black and whites and Skyping.  Later all.

One comment on “Ahh Valentines Day!

  1. […] Ahh Valentines Day! (kazekitty.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

